NAPEX 2012
CSA's Annual Convention
Hilton McClean Tysons Corner
June 1-3, 2012
Tysons Corner, VA

The Confederate Stamp Alliance’s 67th Convention was held on June 1-3, 2012, at the McLean, Va., Hilton Hotel during the NAPEX Stamp Show. Our local host, Col. Tom Lera, did an excellent job coordinating the event. Special thanks are directed to our Hospitality Room and Southern Supper beverage sponsors: Colonels Schuyler Rumsey, Jim Taff, Phil Warman, Chuck Hanselmann and General John Kimbrough. The Southern Supper was attended by 56 members and spouses.

The lowest CSA member number (0736) who attended, was “Old General Peter Powell.” Again the farthest travelled Member was Colonel John and Margret Walker, who crossed the pond once again from England to join the festivities. Four 50 year members were in attendance: Generals Frank Crown, Jim Monroe, Peter Powell and Colonel James Milgram. Sadly, a moment of silence was held for the 13 members (previously listed in the CP) who had passed away since the last convention.

After dinner came the presentation of CSA Service and Exhibit Awards with the commissioning of a new Life member and two new Generals. These awards voted on by the Trustees are as follows:

August Dietz Award and The CP Writer’s Award: Col. Bruce Roberts for his research and detailed census of “Arkansas in the Confederate Postal System.”

Haydn Myer Award: Gen. Frank Crown, Jr. for his work in re-organizing and improving the quality and international reputation of the CSA Authentication Service.

CSA Exhibit Awards (CSA Exhibit Judges were Cols. Randy Neil, Deane Briggs, and Larry Baum):

CSA Trophy for the best and most comprehensive Exhibit of Confederate Stamps and/or Covers: Col. David Canestro for his exhibit “How the Southern States Continued Mail Service during the American Civil War”

CSA Trustees’ Research Trophy (formerly Trustees’ Trophy) for the best exhibit, Single Frame or Multi-frame, which illustrates new knowledge/understanding of CSA Stamps, Covers, Postal History, or an extension to existing knowledge: Gen. Rick Calhoun, for his book “Confederate Postal History of the Virginia Peninsula”

Presidents Trophy for the best exhibit of Confederate Stamps and/or Covers by a member who has not previously won any CSA Exhibit Award: Col. Randolph Smith “Building Confederate Unity; The Important Role of Flag Covers”.
Generals Award, sponsored by General Sherrell Nunnelley and given in memory of General A. Earl Weatherly: General Peter Powell “Confederate Postmaster Provisionals”.

Robert A. Siegel Award: Col. David Snow “Three Cent Star Die Envelope Domestic Use”.

William G. Bogg Memorial Award for the best exhibit depicting the Evolution of Confederate Postal History: Col. Wayne Farley “West Virginia Postal history: The Civil war and Early Statehood”

Brian and Maria Green Award for the best exhibit containing Confederate Military History: Col. Louis Hannen “Louis & Virginia Central RR thru 1866"

General C. L. Bush Award for the best Single Frame exhibit by a member not having another exhibit in the competition: Col. Thomas Lera “The CSA Nitre and Mining Bureau”

General Rick Calhoun surprised the exhibit awardees, by giving them each of them a copy of his latest book, Charleston, South Carolina and the Confederate Postmaster Provisionals.

The Trustees voted to make Colonel James Bowman a CSA Honorary Life Member and have commissioned Colonels Van Koppersmith and Rex Felton as new CSA Generals.Col. Kevin P. Andersen

Four interesting and very well attended presentations were given by:

  • Gen. Jim Monroe on “The Confederate Navy”

  • Col. Kevin P. Andersen on “From Richmond to Columbia: Following the Trail of Frank Baptist and the 1864 Transfer of the Confederate 10-cents Stamp Steel Printing Plates” (Published in the last issue of The CP) (Who would have thought a CSA Treasury Dept Expense account, would nail the date!)

  • Col. Harry Brittain on “The Use of Instrumental Analytical Technology for the Study of Postage Stamps of the Confederacy” (Wow! And more to come in the future!)

  • Col. James Milgram on “Federal Civil War Postal History”

The Annual Membership Meeting held on Saturday June 2nd.

NAPEX awards:

Gold:Grand and Gold-Literature Exhibits: Generals John Kimbrough and Conrad Bush for Collectors Guide to Confederate Philately

Golds: Reserve Grand and Gold-Periodicals: Confederate Stamp Alliance and Editor Col. Randy Neil for the 2011 Confederate Philatelist.

Vermeils for CSA Exhibits: Gen. Rick Calhoun, Col. David Canestro, Col. Wayne Farley, and Col. Randolph Smith

Silvers: Gen. Peter Powell, and Col. Lou Hannen.