Conventions & Events

Sarasota Municipal Auditorium..
A Convention of Philatelists
Unlike Any Other...
With friendship and lots of social activities and opportunities to acquire material, CSA conventions are an annual treat.

We sponsor the annual CSA Philatelic Convention and Exhibition held at various World Series of Philately national stamp shows across the country. The CONFEDERATE STAMP ALLIANCE Convention and Exhibition is the major annual gathering of Confederate collectors and features spectacular exhibits of Confederate stamps and covers.

The famous Southern Supper is a major philatelic event. Each year at the Southern Supper, the Confederate Stamp Alliance Awards are presented. These consist of the Haydn Myer Award (service to the Alliance), the CP Writers Award (best article in the Confederate Philatelist since the last convention), and the August Dietz Award (research and writing since the last convention). Click the award name to review a listing of past recipients. In addition to these three awards, the exhibitors at the convention are recognized with a series of various exhibiting awards the most prestigious being the CSA Trophy for the best Confederate Exhibit. The awards presentations are always a highlight of the Southern Supper.

The original inscribed plaque of the Haydn Myer Award is on display at the APRL (American Philatelic Research Library) in State College, Pa. The archives of the Alliance were moved to the APRL in 2002 and are available for research and study.


Future Sites of CSA Conventions:

2014 Mid-Year: TBD

2015 Annual: London, England, London 2015 Europhilex, May 13-16, host John Walker

2015 Mid-Year: TBD

2016 Annual: St. Louis, Missouri, St. Louis Expo, March 27-29, host TBD

2016 Mid-Year: TBD

2017 Annual: TBD

2017 Mid-Year: TBD

Convention/Events Coverage:

Annual Conventions:

Special Note: All photographs shown on the following pages are provided courtesy of Gen. Trish Kaufmann and/or Col. John Kimbrough.

February 2014 - Sarasota National Stamp Exhibition, Sarasota, FL

March 2013 - Garfield/Perry March Party - Cleveland, OH

June 2012 - NAPEX - Tysons Corner, VA

April/May 2011 - WESTPEX - San Francisco, CA

August 2010 - 75th Anniversary - Richmond, VA

December 2009 - FLOREX - Orlando Florida

July 2008 - Charlotte, NC
November 2007 - Williamsburg, Va.
March 2006 - New York City, ASDA Mega Event
June 2005 - McLean, Virginia, NAPEX '05
February 2004 - Sarasota, Fla. National Stamp Show
March 2003 - St. Louis Stamp Expo
July 2002 - CHARPEX, Charlotte, North Carolina
November 2001 - VAPEX, Virginia Beach, Virginia
April 2000 - TEXPEX, Dallas, Texas
February 1999 - Sarasota, Fla. National Stamp Show

Mid-Year Gatherings
Special Note: All photographs shown on the following pages are provided courtesy of John Kimbrough and Trish Kaufmann.
September 2013 - Huntsville, Alabama
October 2012 - Fort Worth, Texas
November 2011 - Savannah, Georgia
May 2007 - Memphis, Tennessee
November 2006 - Jacksonville, Florida
November 2005 - Mobile, Alabama
October 2004 - Asheville, North Carolina
October 2003 - Harrisburg, Pa.
October 2002 - Chattanooga, Tennessee
April 2001 - Charleston, South Carolina
October 2000 - Richmond, Virginia


2014 CSA Convention

February 7-9, 2014 Sarasota, FL

The CSA's 9th Annual Convention was held at the Hyatt Regency in Sarasota, FL, in conjunction with the Sarasota National Stamp Show at the Municipal Auditorium.

Our Hosts Lee Ann and David Wrisley at the Gamble Plantation


Photos from the Gamble Mansion Tour


Scenes from the Southern Supper



AUGUST DIETZ AWARD 2013  -  Presented at the discretion of the Trustees “For Outstanding Research & Writing on Confederate Postal History During the Past Calendar Year”.  General Richard L. Calhoun for his book The Confederate Postmaster Provisionals of Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

HAYDN MYER AWARD 2013  -  Presented at the discretion of the Trustees “For Outstanding Service to the CSA”.  Colonel Randy L. Neil for his 6 year editorship of The Confederate Philatelist during which time he improved it from a black and white printed journal into a full color 44 page gold medal award winning journal.

CSA WRITERS AWARD for 2013 - Given to Col. Harry G. Brittain for "Forensic Studies of Stamps Issued by the Confederate States of America"



PRESIDENT’S TROPHY  -  For the Best Exhibit of Confederate Stamps and/or Covers by a member who has not previously won any CSA Exhibit Award.  Colonel Daniel Knowles for his Gold Medal Award winning One Frame Exhibit “Confederate States of America Postal Initiative”.

CSA TRUSTEES’ RESEARCH TROPHY  -  For the Best Exhibit, Single Frame, or Multiframe, which illustrates new knowledge/understand of CSA Stamps, Covers, Postal History, or an extension to existing knowledge.  Colonel Deane R. Briggs for his Gold Medal and Grand Award winning Exhibit “Florida Civil War Postal History”.

GENERALS AWARD  -  (Sponsored by General Sherrell Nunnelley and given in memory of General A. Earl Weatherly)  Given at the discretion of the Judges.  Colonel John Walker for his Vermeil Medal Award winning Exhibit “Patriotic Covers Used within & from the Confederate States 1861-1865”.

ROBERT A. SIEGEL MEMORIAL AWARD  -  (Sponsored by Colonel Scott R. Trepel and given in memory of Colonel Robert A. Siegel)  Given at the discretion of the Judges.  Colonel Wayne Farley for his Gold Medal Award winning Exhibit “Independent State and Confederate Mail of West Virginia 1861-1865”.

Other Awards presented at the Sarasota National Stamp Exhibition to CSA members who exhibited.

Thomas Richards:  Vermeil – One Frame “U.S. Naval Mission to Brazil: Cancels 1922-1977”  and The Lighthouse Award.

Deane R. Briggs:  Postal History Society Medal, Military Postal History Society Award, US Philatelic Classics Society Medal.

Wayne Farley:  American Philatelic Society Pre-1900 Medal


Sarasota National Stamp Exhibition 2014 Grand  Award winner Deane R. Briggs with Gold medal winners Daniel Knowles and Wayne Farley


Generals Jim Monroe, Connie Bush and John Kimbrough, with Colonels Steve Roth and Larry Baum in the Hospitality Room viewing members covers


Colonel Deane R. Briggs with his Gold and Grand Award winning 10 frame Exhibit, "Florida Civil War Postal History"